image

October 20, 2014
by Bryne Yancey

Philadelphia trio Psychic Teens have a lot to live up to, having released one of the best albums of 2013 in Come. The band’s loud, heavy and refreshingly stark approach to post-punk leaves an indelible impression on the listener, with nods to ‘80s goth, doom rock, noise and heavy metal creating something that nods to pretty much every subculture without outright lifting anything from any of them. Their eardrum-crushing, neighbor-agitating live performances add another layer to their prowess—they’re loud to the point of delightful disorientation, as if you and the band are underwater.
In a few weeks, Psychic Teens will be releasing a new two-song 7-inch via Reptilian as part of the label’s Keystone Noise series. The A-side, “FACE,” uses dense, dissonant guitars and a deliberately thunderous rhythm section to respectively create and alleviate tension while vocalist Larry Ragone’s echoed croon drives the song’s underrated melody.

Stream “FACE” below and pre-order the 7-inch here. Psychic Teens’ upcoming tour dates are below as well.


Sat Oct 25 Allston MA @ Obrien’s Pub w/ Effzero 
Sun Oct 26 Syracuse NY @ Wescott Community Center w/ Damnation AD 
Fri Nov 7 Philadelphia PA @ Boot & Saddle w/ F.O.D., Hound 
Sat Nov 8 Asheville NC @ Mothlight w/ Ttotals, Nest Egg 
Sun Nov 9 Savannah GA @ TBA w/ Ttotals 
Mon Nov 10 Athens GA @ Caledonia Lounge w/ Ttotals 
Tue Nov 11 Birmingham AL @ The Nick w/ Ttotals 
Wed Nov 12 Atlanta GA @ 529 w/ Ttotals 
Thu Nov 13 Nashville TN @ The Eastroom w/ Ttotals 
Fri Nov 14 Cleveland OH @ Spitfire Saloon w/ Johns 
Sat Nov 15 Braddock PA @ Ink Division Printing w/ Johns 
Sun Nov 16 Ithaca NY @ Community School of Music & Art w/ Johns 
Fri Dec 5 Bethlehem PA @ Burners w/ Bad American 
Fri Dec 19 Baltimore MD @ Metro Gallery w/ Planning for Burial

Advertisements